wind(the)frog(dot)net wind(the)frog(dot)net
I received an email

Yes, that’s right. I received an email from David Roberts, the Chief Executive of Personal Financial Services of the Barclays Group with the head office at 54 Lombard street,London EC3P 3AH.

He was writing this letter to solicit for my support and assistance to carry out a project concerning a late customer of the bank by name Sir John Paul Getty, an oil magnet and philanthropist who died on the 17th of April 2003 in the London Hospital after being treated for a recurrent chest infection.

Can you belive he was asking for my help with an account containing $30,000,000? I’ve got to be the luckiest man alive!!!

Well, me and the other 1,000 receipients of the exact same email, with all of the email address that it was sent to attached as a text file! GAH!!!

Hello? Spammers?!?!? You guys are all a bunch of fucking idiots! What the hell are you thinking? Do you honestly expect to get any response from this. I mean this is the most fuckedupest scam ever to be invented. It is so bad that this scam has been report on the evening news and everything.

Also, do you realize that the mailing list you just paid probably a lot of money for is now not only in my possession, but in the possession of about 1,000 other people as well. Talk about a great return on your investment.

After a bit of checking, it turns out that Sir John Paul did indeed die on April 17th, 2003. It also appears that David Roberts is the Chief Executive of the Barclays Group. At least the fucktard did their research first.

Lets look at the message header, shall we?


Received: from localhst10.com (host-64-110-77-2.interpacket.net64.110.77.2)
by rwcrmxc11.comcast.net (rwcrmxc11) with SMTP
id <20031217222325r1100nk846e>; Wed, 17 Dec 2003 22:24:28 +0000
X-Originating-IP: [64.110.77.2]
From: “BARCLAYS GROUP UK” d.roberts@barclays.co.uk
Reply-To: droberts5500@yahoo.co.uk

Hmmmm. Untrusted Sender? Well, a quick whois lookup correctly stated the domain name, but a traceroute failed to find it’s way. Also, the email address isn’t valid. neat.

Then, there is the reply to address? Who would actually believe that a high level executive for a large UK Bank would actually have a Yahoo! email address, let alone know how Yahoo! works.

That’s all I had. If you are a spammer and are still reading this, then you are the pancake eatin’est motherfucker ever to walk the face of the earth and you should have at least one of your eyeballs scooped out with a hot grapefruit spoon, or get stabbed in the face repeatedly with a pitch fork until you quite simply die, you pick.

Posted in General — by dbwilldo on 12/17/03


Leave a Reply

Comment moderation in full effect!

All comments at wind(the)frog(dot)net are moderated. In the wind(the)frog(dot)net labs I have an elite team of ninja robots keeping things on the up and up.

Dont' sweat if your comment isn't showing up. It's currently being analyzed by the robots to ensure that you are, in fact, you and not one of those idiot spammers that spend their days and nights clogging the tubes.

If does seem to be taking longer than normal, contact db and he'll hook you up tootsweet! You know, 'cause that's the kind of guy he is (and he is also the boss of the ninja robots).

Finally, for those of you in the know, Markdown is available as it a very small set of HTML tags. If you are scratching your head, don't worry, it's just geek stuff. You can still comment!

Thanks for stopping by!

Thanks for checking out my sites! I like feedback, and you can do that at any time via the contact form..

My sites

Hire Me

I'm also at...

Find Me

I also like to play on the internets. You can find my stuff at...


Other Links

Some help me. Some help you. All worth checking out!

Site5 $5 Hosting Deal

Use OpenDNS

Get Firefox